Waffles and New Year Purging.

Started off the New Year with waffles and bacon today. Then went straight to my closet and dresser and started going through my clothes. I will be honest. I have way to many t-shirts. In the last year and a half I have lost over 50 pounds and my clothes just don’t fit like they used to. I counted around 18 pairs of pants I had to get rid of. This is a great problem to have, just expensive.

I do have to thank all of this weight lose and feeling healthier to my new Paleo/Primal lifestyle. If you want to read a couple great books on the subject, I would start with “The Paleo Solution” by Robb Wolf and read “The Primal Blueprint” by Mark Sisson.

The purging was inspired by this article.

Now for the first recipe.

Grain Free Waffles with Berry Jam topping.

Waffles
4 Eggs plus 2 egg whites
2 T Vanilla
1/2 Cup Full fat coconut milk
1.5 Cup Almond Flour
1/2 Cup Coconut flour
1/2 tsp Sea Salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp cinnamon
Dash of fresh ground nutmeg
2/3 cup organic apple sauce
Mix all the wet ingredients, except the egg whites. Beat the whites to foamy peaks w/ a pinch of sea salt. Mix all the dry ingredients. Slowly fold in the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Then continue to fold the mixture with the egg whites trying to preserve as much volume as possible.

Topping
This is super easy. All I do is take some frozen berries and cook them in a pot on low. Stirring and mashing frequently to avoid burning the jam.

These are great to make ahead then reheat in the toaster.

Slight recipe modification from Jen’s Gone Paleo.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waffles and New Year Purging.

  1. Kimberly says:

    What a great idea. I love food blogs and I’ve always been interested in your new lifestyle. Love the pics, too!

  2. Jessica says:

    I read the Sunset article as well, I couldn’t believe how little waste that family accumulates! There is so much more I could be doing!

  3. krobjme says:

    I know its crazy. If I could get anywhere near where they are at I would be happy.

  4. Mary says:

    I WANT TO TRY THESE. This is an amazing blog!

  5. Pingback: Breakfast Ideas and a Paleo Pancake recipe | Family Living Simple

  6. Pingback: How strict do You Have to be with a Side of Cabbage and Meat Muffins | Family Living Simple

  7. Pingback: A week in our Household | Family Living Simple

  8. Pingback: Links of the Week 2 | Family Living Simple

Leave a Reply

