Oven Baked Zucchini Hash and Some Grocery Shopping Tips

Today we had steak and eggs for breakfast. I really wish I could start everyday this way. But an avocado would have made it perfect. That’s how I remembered I needed to go to the grocery store. And gave me an idea for this new blog post.

We are always trying to think of new ways to be less wasteful. So, I ventured over to Ikea and bought a few glass jars to refill with bulk section foods at the store.

I use these jars for almond butter, almond flour, coconut flour, olive oil, honey, coffee, nuts, chocolate chips, spices, really anything you can buy in bulk. All you have to do is bring the empty bottle to the cashier and ask for them to weigh it. Some might look at you funny, but if they have been a cashier for awhile they will help you out, no problem. Most cashiers have either gave me a post-it with the weights or just taped the weights on top of the jars. Then I use the little tags for the bin number. Make sure to save the tags and reuse them for even less waste.

Now for my new favorite breakfast.

Oven Baked Zucchini Hash
I call this a hash and not a frittata because I only put a couple of eggs in the dish. A frittata is a little eggier. I know that isn’t a word.

Ingredients
3-4 zucchinis (Just depends on the size)
2-4 pasture raised eggs (You want just enough eggs to be able to cover the whole mixture)
Onion
Mushrooms
Cooked Sausage (I just used about 3/4 pound left over from the night before. I have also used left over meatballs. So Good.)
Olives
Coconut Oil

Grate the zucchini with a cheese grater and set aside. Beat the eggs in a separate bowl. Combine all ingredients and mix together. You want just enough eggs so all the mixture is covered. Add a 1/2 tablespoon of coconut oil in a pan on medium heat. Then add mixture into the pan that you can later toss into the oven. Cover and cook until eggs on the bottom have cooked through, about 5 mins. Turn on your broiler and toss in your zucchini bake uncovered for about 5 mins. Just until eggs are all the way cooked through. Remove and serve.

This is also really nice with some avocado.


Gallery | This entry was posted in Cooking Show, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oven Baked Zucchini Hash and Some Grocery Shopping Tips

  1. jonina says:

    looks super good!

  2. krobjme says:

    Its my new favorite breakfast. So good a easy.

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Ideas and a Paleo Pancake recipe | Family Living Simple

  4. Pingback: Valentine’s Day | Family Living Simple

Leave a Reply

