Shepard’s Pie and How and Where do I buy Paleo Foods?

I have been asked the question, “Where do I buy all these Paleo foods”?

In reality you can buy most of the food at your regular grocery store. The problem is, it might not be organic or it will be more expensive. This isn’t always the case as more major retailers are staring to feel the demands from the consumer for more local and organic food. I used to buy 100% of our groceries at the major chain down the street. Now I buy maybe 10% there. You don’t have to go out and try the totally organic and grass-fed approach. You will still be doing yourself a favor if you are eating a Paleo type diet. But I believe it is worth the extra money upfront to buy the best quality I can afford.

Some of the most common foods that people struggle with finding are:
(I will share some links at the end of where I buy my food)

Coconut Milk
There are a few different options here. The stuff I call for in my recipes will be the full fat organic canned milk.  You can find this in any store down the Indian and Asian food aisle. There are a lot of different brands out there. Right now I use Native Forest. You won’t always find organic, you might have to go to your local health food store to find it. The main concern here is to get the full fat version. DO NOT BUY LIGHT COCONUT MILK.
You can also find the milk in a carton at your health store in the fridge section. The only brand I have found is So Delicious. I mainly use this for my morning decaf coffee or in a smoothie.

Almond Flour/Meal
The only difference I really see with Flour vs. Meal is the fineness of the almond. The flour is blanched but most of the time you won’t notice a difference when cooking. The only time I splurge and spend the extra money on the Blanched Flour instead of Meal is when we are making cookies. Otherwise I don’t really notice a difference.
You can also find this product at any grocery store. A popular brand is Bob’s Red Mill. It is usually located at the major stores in the organic cooking section. At my local health food store I buy it in the bulk section. I buy just the amount I need at save a little cash.
You should store this in your fridge and it will last for about 3 months.

Coconut Flour
This can be a little trickier to find. Bob’s Red Mill does make this, but I haven’t seen it at the major retailer. I also buy this at my local health store and they now carry it in the bulk section as well as prepackaged. Same goes for Flax Meal.
You should store this in your fridge and it will last for about 3 months.

Arrowroot Powder
This is something I had never heard of before going Paleo. It is a powder that works as a thickening agent. I have used it for gravy among other things. This can also be difficult to find. I have purchased it at a major before, but couldn’t find it the last time I went. You will find it near the spices. Sometimes you will see it in the bulk spice section too.

Coconut oil
This can be found in your organic section at the major retailer by the cooking oils. It will be in a glass or plastic jar. The contents is a white jelly concoction. I now buy mine online at Tropical Traditions. Great product and great price.

It has taken me a few trips to my local stores to find out who has the best prices and quality, but it was worth the trips. I now shop at 3 different stores and buy online from a few different retailers. I do this mainly for the prices, but also the selection. You might have to put a little effort in your first few trips, but you will iron out the details and will start eating great and tasty food.

Where I shop
Trader Joe’s

Marlene’s
Marlene’s is similar to your local Whole Foods, PCC or any natural health food store.

Thundering Hooves
This is where I buy our grass-fed meat from. They have drop off locations that we go to for pick-up. The company that does the deliveries, Corfini Gourmet also sells pasture raised eggs from Mad Hatcher Farms.

Full Circle Farms
This is where I am part of a CSA program. I get fresh veggies and fruit delivered from here. Also, if anyone joins this CSA please let them know that Kyle Roberts referred you. Thanks

There are probably local companies like these in your area. Check out Eat Wild and Local Harvest for farms in your area.

Amazon also carries a lot of these products.

Let me know if you have any more questions. I look forward to answering them.

Shepard’s Pie


Ingredients:
2 lb ground meat — We used ground sirloin but have used ground buffalo in the past. Lamb would also be a great option.
1Large onion
4 carrots
4 celery sticks
1 bag of frozen peas
1 bag of frozen beans — I know peas and beans are borderline not Paleo or fall into a gray area for some. For this meal I think they work and are worth it.
4 cloves of garlic
3 sweet potatoes
1 head of cauliflower
Parsley
Oregano
Salt n Pepper to taste
1/4 Cup coconut milk
1/4 Cup Almond Meal

Preheat oven to 400•. I like to start with the topping of the Shepard’s Pie first. Set up your steamer. I just set a colander into a pot with boiling water and put a lid on to steam my veggies. Peal and cut the sweet potatoes and chop the cauliflower up and place into the steamer. Start cooking the meat. Chop up all your veggies and saute in a tablespoon of coconut oil. When the meat is done being cooked add the meat to the cooked veggies. Now add the oregano, parsley and salt n pepper to the mixture along with the 1/4 Cup of almond meal. Drain the sweet potatoes and cauliflower and mash with the coconut milk. Add the meat and veggie mixture to a 9×13 baking dish then add the mashed topping. Bake for 40 minutes. Just until topping begins to brown.
I also provided a nice little photo of my wife and son Nolan. This is what they were up to while dinner was in the oven.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shepard’s Pie and How and Where do I buy Paleo Foods?

  1. Janna says:

    I just learned about Full Circle Farms from my sis in law and am looking into joining :) She isn’t a member so I’ll be sure to use you guys if I get on board. Thanks for the new recipe!

  2. krobjme says:

    Sweet, we just started it and it seems really good. You can even see what you are getting for the week online. Otherwise you couldn’t plan ahead for your meals. And you can change items out for something else if you don’t want it.

  3. Erin says:

    Oooh. I can’t wait to try this. I love the idea of doing cauliflower and sweet potatoes together for the topping. I’ve tried a recipe with plain cauliflower and just didn’t enjoy it. This looks perfect! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

