Quick Friday Night Dinner and How to Eat Out.

Almost every time I have plans to eat out or am at a party I always get asked the same question, “What are you going to eat”? It’s really not that tricky. You might seem picky to others but I would rather seem picky to a couple people than eat like crap and feel the same later.
Really simple. When I eat out it really isn’t a problem at all. There is always something you can find. Sometimes I will just get a burger with no bun. Then instead of fries just get a side salad. Really simple. One change I have been noticing more and more is a Gluten Free menu. Sometimes you have to ask for it or if you scan that menu you are given it might say Gluten Free menu available. Or just do your best. You can scan for items you know are Paleo or just ask the server if you can get the burger with no bun or can I have the salad with no croutons and cheese.

As far as friends houses or parties this can be more difficult. You will see the typical chips and dip or pizza. So, sometimes I will eat a little ahead of time if I don’t know what they are serving. Otherwise I just eat a lot of the couple things I can eat. Like chopped peppers or fruit.

You could just cheat for that one meal and eat whatever you want some people who follow Paleo allow themselves a cheat meal every once in a while. However, since we have been eating Paleo for so long now if I eat any grains, dairy, or something cook in an oil besides Olive or coconut I will not feel well. Some people don’t have these issues when they eat grains etc. This just shows me how bad these non-paleo foods are. The fact that they will make me sick like that. Through trial and error you will find what works for you.

It was a long week and when I got home tonight I did not feel like cooking much, but we need to eat. So I threw together some stuff I had left over from our CSA delivery of the week and a pound of ground sirloin I had defrosted. This isn’t an incredible meal or anything I am posting it just to show you how easy it can be when you have just a few things to eat.

So I made: Beets and Yam roast, Rainbow Chard, and Ground Beef in Cajun seasoning.

Ingredients
7 small beets
2 small yams
1 bunch rainbow chard
1 pound ground sirloin
coconut oil
3 garlic cloves chopped
salt n pepper

Preheat oven to 400• then chop up the beets and sweet potatoes. I didn’t peel them cause I was lazy. I also cut the beets into a little bit smaller pieces since they cook slower than the potatoes. Toss with olive oil and some salt n pepper put it in the oven for around 40 mins. I then washed and cut up the chard. Rip off the leaves from the ribs and chop all up. Keep the ribs separate. Heat a pan with a heaping spoonful of coconut oil on medium high heat. Add in the chopped garlic and the ribs from the chard. Cook a few minutes then add in the chopped up leaves. Cook for around 5-8 mins. When the chard is almost done pour on some olive oil and sprinkle with salt n pepper. The ground beef was really simple. I just cooked it in a little coconut oil with some cajun spices and called it good.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Friday Night Dinner and How to Eat Out.

  1. Mary says:

    Yum, this looks really good. I bet it would be good layered in a bowl too!

Leave a Reply

