Pot Pie and Some Monday Morning Ramblings.

I am sitting here in front of my computer eating eggs with sausage, mushrooms, sauerkraut (which is a great natural probiotic) and a failed attempt at sweet potato muffins. I will work on that recipe again this week. Oh, I also have a big cup of decaf coffee with coconut milk. So good.

While I munch away I am trying to think of my next great blog post. “Great” is kind of over exaggerating. I am doing this blog as a way to share with the interested folks out there how easy it is to live an overall better life. And this is what I think is better. You don’t have to agree with me. You might think growing your own garden or eating a Paleo diet is crap. That’s fine. I am still going to write this blog. And someone will find it helpful.

What has gotten into me this morning? This really is just me crapping on my keyboard about nothing. Oh well, let it continue.

My family just signed up at the Y (formerly the YMCA). It is a lot more expensive than my current gym membership, but they don’t offer day care or all the other family activities that the Y does. I feel like this will help our family continue to stay active together. And I am willing to pay a little extra every month for this. Along these same lines I signed my wife and I up for the Warrior Dash this weekend. This will give us a goal to work at together and will probably be a blast to race in. I think I will start a training log of what my wife and I do to get into warrior shape. I will link to it on here once I get it up and running.

We are also planning a trip to Tucson, AZ and I will be posting on here about our packing, food that we bring and all the other goodies that go along with being Paleo and having a child while traveling. This will be our first flight with our son. Should be fun I could really use some hot sun on my face right now. And that sun will feel even better on the golf course.

Well that’s probably enough for my Monday ramblings. I guess you are a little caught up on what my family has going on and what you will be seeing in the future on this blog. I am going to get these sweet potato muffins dialed in and post that soon. But, for now here is our Pot Pie recipe.

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients
for the filling:
1 Tablespoon Coconut oil
1 onion
5-6 chicken thighs
3 carrots
2 pieces of celery
1 Cup mushrooms
1.5 Cups chicken broth
2.5 Tablespoons  arrowroot powder
Oregano, basil, salt n pepper

For topping
1.5 Cups almond flour
1/2 Cup coconut flour sifted
Salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1/4 Cup canned coconut milk
1/2 Cup water

Preheat oven to 300•

Melt the coconut oil in a pan and add the onions. Then add the chicken, chopped mushrooms, carrots and celery. Cook through. Add all your spices. I really just eyeball for this recipe. Add chicken broth then stir in arrowroot powder to thicken up the filling mixture. Lower the heat to a medium low and cook a few more minutes until filling really thickens up. Add filling to your ramekins. We filled up about 6-7 small cream brulee sized ramekins. This will differ depending on your ramekins.

Topping
Mix all the dry ingredients then mix all the wet ingredients in separate bowls. Combine all the ingredients together. I patted the topping mixture out like a burger patty in my hand. I made about 1/4″ and just laid it out on top of the ramekin.

Add to the oven for 20-30 minutes. Topping will be golden brown.

Gallery | This entry was posted in About, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pot Pie and Some Monday Morning Ramblings.

  1. Andi says:

    You don’t have to agree with me. … That’s fine. I am still going to write this blog. And someone will find it helpful.

    Well, yeah. Hey, I didn’t know squat about the Paleo thing beforehand, and I find the the stuff you’ve been tacking up really informative and above all else easy to comprehend. When I’m learning new stuff, I like having the “been there, done this, this is what works” attitude. You’re doing a good job with it, keep it up!

  2. Janna says:

    FYI, flying with kids is a breeze once you get used to it! TIP: Since he flies free under age 2, SWA, Alaska, American let you bring your carseat to the gate so it doesn’t get boogered up in baggage. Once you get to your gate ask if there are any open seats and they’ll just let you bring the carseat on and voila! Nolan has his own seat and being strapped in makes the flight MUCH easier than walking the aisles with an antsy toddler. Let him snack/drink during take off and landing so his little ears can pop ;)

  3. Mary says:

    I love this blog!! :)

  4. Julia says:

    I just saw this on Chowstalker (looking for Whole30 recipes) and I can’t wait to try it! Chicken pot pie has always been one of my favorite things :)

Leave a Reply

