Snacks and a little info on Fasting.

Snacks is another thing that is sitting right under our noses, yet w always struggle with. We do to. Its easy to just grab something and just eat it. Sadly, most of the time when you just grab something and eat it, its not the healthy for you.

Like right now I am still at work after hours and am hungry. There is a package of chocolate covered macadamia nuts behind me. I could easily grab one and just mound on it. I planned a little better than that. I have home made beef jerky to eat. I also packed a smoothie this morning. If I haven’t done these things I would probably be eating 5 of those chocolate things right now.

This was one thing that I struggled with while switching to this Paleo lifestyle. But now that we eat right around 100% Paleo, I find that I can eat bigger meals and snack less. So now, snacking isn’t as much of a problem and when I do need to snack. I only keep Paleo foods around. It can be as simple as an apple and almond butter. Which I am a sucker for. Or, some hard boiled eggs.

Back to the not snacking as often. Our bodies respond better to periods of fasting. I won’t get technical, I will just share some links.

Marks Daily Apple

Robb Wolf’s Podcast is a great source for this subject

Living Paleo

There are millions of more articles on this subject. Constantly feeding your face is not how you were designed to eat. I have just started intermittent fasting. And I am easing into it. I used to snack all day at work. And I still lost weight, but I want to be as healthy and strong as I can be.

Here is Fitbomb’s experience with fasting.

But I know some of you are still looking for snack ideas. So here are some.

Beef Jerky. I just made our first batch at home. It turned out pretty good. I want to nail down the spices first before I share it in a post.

Fruit. Keep it simple and don’t eat a ton of fruit. Its just a lot of sugar.

Nuts. Also, don’t eat a ton of nuts daily. If you are trying to lean out or want to keep your Omega 3:6 ratios on point keep it light on the nuts.

Chicken. You can just cut up some cooked chicken and pack it for the day.

Canned Tuna or Salmon. You can open this anywhere and much away.

Eat some of your pancakes or egg muffins.

Leftover Meatballs

Lunch meat

And I add Avocados to everything. It is filled with great fats that will fill you up.

Or you can eat some of my Sweet Potato Muffins.

Sweet Potato Muffins

Ingredients
1.5 Cups Sweet potato (1 Large potato)
4 Eggs
1/2 Cup Coconut Flour
1 Cup Coconut Milk (Full Fat)
1 Tablespoon Vanilla (you can always add more)
Cinnamon as much as you want
Salt just a dash
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
Coconut Oil for greasing the muffin pans

Preheat oven to 350• Peel and steam the sweet potatoes, mash and set aside. Mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. In a separate bowl mix the eggs, vanilla and coconut milk then stir in the sweet potatoes. Mix all the ingredients together and add to the pans. It will make a dozen muffins. Fill each mold to a little below the lip. They will rise a little.

You could also add some pecans. That would be so good in these or raisins or honey if you want something sweeter, but they are sweet enough for me.

Also, check out my fitness blog over at https://familytrainingsimple.wordpress.com/ I just started it, but my wife and I signed up for Warrior Dash and I will share with everyone how we are training for this.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snacks and a little info on Fasting.

  1. Janna says:

    You must have “fixed” your sweet potato recipe since you took the time to post it! I’ll be sure to try. I have to thank you guys for sharing your lifestyle with me. I did a cleanse/fast back in early January and planned on kicking off better eating afterward (I already had rid processed foods and boxed crap long ago but wanted to do more for myself/my fam). I have been eating (mostly) paleo-ish for weeks now and I can tell a HUGE difference. Jamie mentioned better/brighter complexion, weight loss, and overall energy. I’ve experienced all of these things and am thankful you guys sparked my urge to try a better diet. After weeks of meats/veggies/fruits I finally went “paleo-shopping” yesterday and stocked up on the staples I found in most recipes (coconut flour, coconut oil, almond meal/flour, etc) and cooked total paleo dinner for fam last night. It was fabulous and even my “apple crisp” was eaten by all. I’ll continue to experiment with this new cooking style and steal your recipes whenever I can. Thanks guys!

  2. Janna says:

    oh and I tried “egg mcpaleomuffins” this morning with a coconut pancake-like concoction and fried egg and bacon… I loved it! hubby picked out the insides and left the pancakes… maybe I’ll try an almond flour pancake for his pickier palate… put a squirt of maple on them though and my littlest one gobbled them up! I think I’ve implemented this early enough she’ll prob eat ANYTHING I make… the boys I’ll have to conquer with some creativity ;)

    • Thanks so much. That means a lot. There are a ton of great resources out there. The Paleo community continue to grows everyday. Let us know if you ever want to chat about anything Paleo related. I am always eager to talk about diet and lifestyle.

      Also, stay tuned because there will be a lot more info coming to this blog soon. Its just taking some time to get everything together.

      If you would like to read up on this kind of stuff more check out “The Paleo Solution” or a new book is going to be released soon by a great Paleo mother called “Everyday Paleo” by Sarah Fragoso.

      Thanks again and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

