Lets jump right into the Slow Cooker

It’s now the beginning of March and tons of New Year’s resolutions have failed while some  might have succeeded. No matter the case a 30 day challenge might be right for you.

You might be new to Paleo or a veteran caveman. Either way you may need to jump start your healthy lifestyle again. Some of us waiver off the path, while other steer straight down that dead end. So I have compiled a list of 30 day challenges, and have given some of my thoughts so you can see what one might work for you.

The Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge
Mark Sisson, writer of The Primal Blueprint holds a special place in my heart. He is what started me down this Paleo/Primal way of living. I don’t exactly remember how I came across Mark’s Daily Apple, but when I found his online extravaganza of Primal life I found what I had been looking for. I purchased his book right when it was released and must have finished it within two weeks. Which is insane for me. I only read golf and men’s health magazines before. Now I have a stack of Paleo, fitness and general health books on my nightstand.

Back to the 30 day challenge. This challenge I feel will work best for individuals that are a hesitant on what this lifestyle is all about. Mark lays out 10 rules to live by. They aren’t just about food, but are about fitness, sleep and not making stupid mistakes to name a few. He also leaves a little wiggle room. He follows the 80/20 rule. So as long as you follow his rules 80% of the time you are good to go. This rule totally makes it easier for when you are starting out because you might slip up and can just chalk it up to your 20%. The key is to not make this 20% more of a 30-40%. Which is totally what I did at first. Mark is also very inspirational and motivating. I mean look at the guy. I hope I can look like that at his age.

I almost forgot. Mark also has a great cookbook. The Primal Blueprint Cookbook and is releasing a Quick and Easy Meals book later this month. Which I already have on pre-order.

The Whole9 30 Day Challenge

I wish I would have found this challenge when I first started out. The reason for this is it completely eliminates all the gray areas of a Paleo type diet. The reason I like this is because if you just just in all the way, you will see better results and want to keep going. There is no wavering  on this challenge. I love this. I know from my experience of slowly becoming Paleo made it way harder to stay on track. The Whole9 is also a great resource and they set a great example. I am dying to go to one of there workshops. We might be taking a vacation sometime this summer just so we can attend one.

Robb Wolf’s Paleo Solution

Robb doesn’t have a specific 30 day challenge, but in his book The Paleo Solution he lays out a food log with recipes. This is my favorite health book yet. He gets a little sciency at times, but he also lays things out in plain English. Both Jamie and I have read this book and love it. I also bought a copy for my little sister (a nutrition major) and my older sisters boyfriend. Who has jumped into eating Paleo and has lost a good amount of weight already. Robb has a great podcast, a food matrix, quick start guide and shopping list. This make it very accessible and takes all the guess work out of eating this way.

Art De Vany

Art doesn’t have a 30 day challenge per se. But he also has a food log in his book The New Evolution Diet. Art has a little different stance then a few people on the Paleo diet, but you can’t argue with the way this guy looks in his 70’s. He would put 99% of us to shame.

This is also a good read. Nice and quick and straight to the point. However I don’t agree with everything he has to say, but its great because it made me question certain things.

There are a few other books and challenges out there, but these are the ones I have a lot of experience with and can speak for personally.

So, how do I really feel and which one would I choose? I would probably start out with the Whole9 30 day challenge and simultaneously read The Paleo Solution and go from there.

Recipe:
Slow Cooker Beef Tenderloin

This was something really simple that I threw together one morning. We had some veggies we needed to use, so I came up with this recipe.

Ingredients:
4Beef Tenderloins
2Yams
1 Cup Mushrooms
3 Carrots
3 sticks of Celery
2 Shallots
Chianti
3 Cloves of Garlic
Coconut Oil
These spices I just kind of threw on the tenderloins. I did not measure them
Oregano
Thyme
Rosemary

Directions:
I rubbed the tenderloins with all of the spices and seared all the sides in a pan coated with coconut oil. I then added the beef to the slow cooker and topped it with all the chopped veggies. I then added some Chianti about 1/3 of the way full. Cooked for 6-8 hours and voila. Super quick meal.

Activity

Monday:
I was really tired today so I skipped the gym and went for a 45 minute walk.

Tuesday:
I played racquetball for 30 mins then did a set of Tabata intervals of Push-ups, Chin-ups and the Push Press.

Wednesday:
I played a racquetball match. It lasted about 45 mins. I was exhausted.

Thursday:
I was finally back on schedule and at the gym lifting weights. I did my Thursday Workout option 2.

-Single Leg Dumbbell Deadlift 3×4
-Pike Presses 2×8 I might start Handstand Push-ups next time.
-One Arm Dumbbell Snatch 5×4
-Hammer Curls 1×12 I upped the weight by 5# from last week.
-Elevated Bench Dips 2×12

Friday:
I had some errands to run so I went on a 30 minute walk.

Saturday:
Nothing to crazy today. Went on about an hour walk.

Sunday:
Relaxed and did some errands with my main man Nolan.


Gallery | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lets jump right into the Slow Cooker

  1. He who distinguishes the true savor of his food can never be a glutton; he who does not cannot be otherwise. ~Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

