Barefoot or Minimal footwear. And some Jerky!

I am kind of getting obsessed with this minimal/barefoot style shoe thing. It started with a pair of Nike Sneakerboats. They are a aqua socks. I really like them, but my feet get a little sweaty when wearing them for an extended period. And they actually look like regular shoes. When I bought them they were on sale cause they had already been discontinued. I do however like to wear them to the gym for days I am lifting weights. They give a little protection and are pretty comfy as long as you aren’t wearing them for an extended period of time.

I then bought a pair of Nike Free 7.0 shoes. I really wanted the 3.0 version, but they just did not feel very stable. So I went with the 7.0. They are OK for daily wearing, but are not barefoot style shoes. This is how they advertise them, but the sole is super thick.

I then bought a pair of Vibram KSO’s but have to return them because I just can’t find a size that I am comfortable with. It sucks cause I really like how they feel, my toes are either rubbing to much on the ends or barely fit into the toe slots. I am going to continue looking for a style that fits cause I do love the way these shoes feel. I really don’t care what they look like.

Next I went to buy some New Balance Minimus trail shoes. I say Fit Bomb’s write up and just had to go out to get them. I love them. I have ran, worked out and just worn them around. They are pretty nice and don’t look to weird. They are super comfy and have a pretty thin sole while still being stable.

I also want to try the new Merrell Trail Gloves but I don’t think my wife would be to happy with my new habit.

I know a lot of people are weary about running in any of these barefoot/minimal styles of shoe, but there is a ton of research out suggestion the benefits. It is something you have to get used to while running. Your stride will need to change a little bit. Below are some great links to help you out.

Here are some articles

Seattle Times

New Yorker

Al Kavadlo

The Telegraph

Also, Birthday Shoes always has some great reviews on the newest in the barefoot world.

Recipe

Beef Jerky

Ingredients:
1 London Broil
Garlic Powder
Cayenne
Chili Powder
Pepper
Salt
Coconut Amino
Water

This was super simple, just took a little time to prep. I cut the meat into about 1/8″ pieces and marinated them over night in all the ingredients listed. I really just eyeballed the seasoning. I did go easy on the cayenne though, didn’t want to make it to spicy. The reason I say I eyeballed it was because I really didn’t add a ton of spices. I have tinkered with this recipe a few times and have found that the amount of meat I use is never the same. So measuring would be pointless. Also, I didn’t add a ton of spices because the meat tastes pretty good on it own. After adding the spices I then added a little bit of the coconut aminos and some water to help everything mix and get soaked up while marinating overnight. The next morning I turned on my dehydrator to 155• and placed all the cut meat into the dehydrator for about 6-7 hours.

Activity

Monday 3/7/11

Exercise Option 1
-Back Squats 3×4 I added 20 more pounds since the last session.
-Dumbbell Bench Press 2×6 added 5 more pounds
-Dumbbell Rows 2×8 added 5 more pounds
-Close Grip Chin-ups 1 x max reps
-Diamond Push-ups 2 x max reps added 5 more reps

Tuesday

I did 100m sprints than 10 push-ups. Repeated 8 times.

Wednesday

I had a racquetball match.

Thursday

-Dumbbell Deadlift 3×4
-Dumbbell Overhead Press 2×6
-Dumbbell Cleans 5×4
-Hammer Curls 1×12
-Parallel Bar Dips 2×10

Friday

Went for a long walk on my lunch break.

Saturday and Sunday

I could tell I was fighting off a cold so just took it easy and ran errands and sat around the house all weekend. I hadn’t been getting much sleep the last few nights (Basketball to watch).

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barefoot or Minimal footwear. And some Jerky!

  1. Jenn says:

    Vivo makes a barefoot running shoe, as well as other regular barefoot shoes. Though I haven’t had the guts to drop the cash on a pair (they are expensive!), they are out there. I’m just glad to see that there are more options then Vibrams. I like my monkey shoes, but I don’t always want to be stared at!

Leave a Reply

