Going Poo-less or No Shampoo, ewww Gross.

Now that I have your attention I will get the embarrassment out of the way. Yes, I don’t use shampoo. I know gross right. NO!

You are probably thinking why would I possibly want to not use shampoo, are you a hippy now? Don’t worry I am not going to start listening to The Grateful Dead or growing out dreads. But I do care about my health and body. I don’t put chemicals or poisonous things into my body so why would I put them on my body?

I do still wash my hands frequently. As I am a slight germaphobe.

Let me say that this was a gradual thing and I did not just stop showering one day. I still shower everyday, when I wake up and again after the gym. Some of you are probably thinking that you are a guy your hair is short. I am a girl I can’t do that. Well you can. No my wife hasn’t gone this route yet, but she is conscious about what she puts on her body. She just spends the money on the organic shampoos, soaps and lotions with all natural and very few ingredients. You can go this route or you can take it up a notch. Over at CaveGirlEats she has talked about going poo-less and can give you a woman’s perspective.

So, what do I do? Like I said I shower everyday. Some days I just get in the shower and rinse with water. I do try to keep the shower as cold as possible though. This is better for your skin and muscles. Of, course during this time of year in the northwest it’s easier said then done. I do use soap a few times a week however. Its coconut soap from TropicalTraditions. Coconut is the only ingredient.

Now for my hair I use about a tablespoon of baking soda and add a little water to make a paste. I rub this on my scalp. Do not rub to aggressively on your hair as you could damage it, concentrate more on your scalp. Baking soda is abrasive.  I let it set for about a minute and rinse. Then I take a tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar with a few drops of tea tree oil and add about a cup and a half of water and pour over my head to rinse my hair. I leave it for about a minute then rinse with water. For women you might want to up the quantity a little as you have more hair than me. Pretty simple.

My results have been great. I have had dandruff problems (TMI I know) and they are gone. I have had eczema problems my whole life also and as it’s  not completely gone I notice it a lot less now. At first my hair did become greasy, which was always the case, but going this route allows for your bodies natural oils to take over and start producing again. My hair seems thicker now too. Overall the experience has been great. My skin and hair have never felt better and I will never go back to using standard shampoo and soap.

You are probably still wondering why I do this. I know I link to Mercola’s site a lot, but he can tell you better than I what you are trying to avoid. Link. You can also avoid these chemicals if you read the ingredients list on your shampoo and soap like my wife instead.

And here is the link that finally got me to try this out. Link

Here are some other links for you

More from Cave Girl Eats about a primal body

Free The Animal

Now for a quick little segment on Deodorant. I am sure most of us have heard about Aluminum in deodorant. Obviously this is something we want to avoid.

I use a crystal stick on my underarms. They also make a spray that works well. Of course there are other options like Tom’s and other organic deodorants that most are more comfortable using. Tom’s didn’t agree with my skin and it still has a ton of ingredients. There are a lot of people that don’t use deodorant period. This is something I haven’t been able to bring myself to do.

But the reason people are able to do these things like no shampoo or deodorant is because of our Paleo diet. When eating foods we were designed to eat our bodies natural oils take over and no they don’t stink. The stench in your odor is your body releasing toxins and bacteria. And some believe when you follow Paleo this lessens the toxins and bacteria smells. However, I am not a doctor and this is all just my opinions. I do know that is has worked for me.

Let me know what questions you have.

_

No new recipe creation today. Sorry just crazy busy but thought I would get a post up.

I will share with you some links of recipes we have been eating lately.

We made a London Broil in the slow cooker and it turned out so good. Also, the london broil cut of meat is nice and cheap and we used butternut squash for the recipe.
EverydayPaleo

We also made my Curry recipe again. This time we used skirt steak and it worked great. Next time I think I might try this in the slow cooker.
FamilyLivingSimple

We have also made two recipes for The Primal Blueprint Cookbook. We made the Sausage Stew and I plan on cooking the Salmon Chowder this weekend. So good.
The Primal Blueprint Cookbook

I am also going to try to whip up a quick grab-n-go meal this weekend. Sweet Potato Muffins. Hopefully the recipe turns out so I can post it.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Going Poo-less or No Shampoo, ewww Gross.

  1. CaveGirlEats says:

    Wow, thanks for this shout-out! I am definitely a girl who likes to smell good and look pretty, and this No ‘Poo technique hasn’t changed that one bit! No stinky hippie here! My hair, after the initial adjustment period, is actually softer and MORE manageable than it ever was in my fancy shampoo days.

  2. Mandy Mom says:

    I use castile soap.. and I love it. As a kid, my mom would wash my hair with a mixture of vinegar and baking soda. We have rid our home of all things with sodium laureth sulfate in it- nasty stuff! :)

  3. Mary says:

    This is a great post!

Leave a Reply

